Just Random Conversation


For the past few months I have been struggling with what seems to be nerve damage. The doctors have not come to a conclusive diagnosis but that’s what I think. Having nerve damage that affects the entire left side of your body is no picnic. It’s funny how you take for granted, the most simple motor skills, like walking or lifting a glass but when they are taken away, they’re the most appreciated. Out of nowhere, it just happened… I couldn’t feel my arms or my legs. My mom has another opinion. She says that I have been so consumed with work and caring about everyone else… I forgot all about me.

It has been rough, to say the least, to find doctors who actually care to diagnose you prior to pumping out the many prescriptions they’re convinced will help you. Whatever happened to the consultation part of the doctor visit; when the sit you down and really get to know you, not just what you wrote on the pages and pages of forms they have you complete on your first visit. Has that become passé and I missed the memo? Don’t get me wrong, I respect the profession to the utmost but I think the “doctoring” as my grandmother calls is it has long been forgotten. And that is not a good feeling. But in the meantime, I’ll continue to be optimistic.

Leave a Reply

