You Snooze You Lose


I was really excited to go out and take advantage of what I thought was another warm winter day. As beautiful as it looked outside this morning, it was actually a bone-chilling 19 degrees. The excitement began to wane but I was determined not let that completely discourage me. I got in the car and just drove. Normally, I don’t plan my scouting destinations. It’s more fun to just accidently find the location.

After a 20 minute ride, I ended up at a park by the water. I spotted a flock of birds sitting on the railing. Perfect… this will be today’s location! I quickly got out of the car and turned on the camera. You would not believe what happened next! The message flashed before my eyes… NO CARD IN CAMERA. I am sure you could imagine my dismay. I just learned the first rule in photography; ensure you have additional memory cards. At that very moment my heart sank. I had left the memory card in my computer.

Okay, the feeling of all-has-been-lost only lasted for a minute or two until I thought of a great idea. Go the nearest Best Buy! Since I couldn’t tell the last time a saw an actual Camera store anywhere.; that was my best bet. So back into the car and to Best Buy I went with the assistance of my iPhone and GPS. What would I ever do without technology? I’ll save that for another post.

On the way back to the park, I thought, ” Am I really going to find this place again?” I had no idea how I got there in the first place because I didn’t use the GPS to get there. I was so excited I also didn’t take note of any of the street names. Luckily, my memory served me well today.

As I put the new memory card into the camera a flock of birds swooped into the water and began what resembled a fight. I wasn’t sure what they were up to but I wanted to capture all the hoopla. And I did!

It wasn’t  until I viewed the photo on my computer that I realized they were fighting for fish! Now, I feel vindicated! I got a back-up memory card and I got the shot! Whoohoo!

6 thoughts on “You Snooze You Lose

  1. I keep trying to get bird shot too! I have a pond just adjacent the hangar, but my puddle jumpers won’t pose for the camera. I admire the distance you went to score a fine shot of a bird.
    Congratulations! Love the photo!
    God Bless You!

  2. Pingback: For the Birds | onelifethislife

  3. Haha the memory card thing totally happened to me before. Now I try to make sure I put my card right back into my camera as soon as I finish uploading photos 🙂 Great shot with the birds! I have an obsession with photographing birds and I love moments like these 😀

Leave a Reply

