I Got A Bit More Than I Bargained For!


Yesterday, I revisited Echo Lake Park in Springfield, NJ. My first visit to Echo Lake was about five years ago. It was a beautiful spring day and a great day for a long run. The colors of the foliage were a vibrant green and the air was fresh and crisp. Yesterday’s visit was quite different. There was a wintry chill in the air and most of the trees were bare except for the evergreens and few other trees. Nonetheless, it was still beautiful.

During my visit, I met a wonderful man named Hank.  Our conversation began when he noticed me taking photos of the lake. He commented on the beauty of the park and how lovely a day it was. At that moment, I somehow became gravitated to learn more about him. I paused from taking photos and began an interesting conversation with a complete stranger. We talked about photography, the park and how he began volunteering when he retired. In our short 15 minute conversation, I thought of my own life. What have I done to give back? Should I be doing more? I proceeded to ask him about the organizations that were in the local area where I could volunteer. Within seconds, he gave me list of different people to contact. I jotted everything in my phone for later use.

I thought to myself, how amazing is this day! I met a complete stranger and learned so much about his life and shared a bit of mine; just like that! Finally, I asked if I could take his photo and he graciously agreed. So here is Hank!

Here are a few more photos of my visit to Echo Lake Park.

If you would like to see more of my photos from Echo Lake Park, visit my Flickr photostream.

Thanks for visiting Onelifethislife!

8 thoughts on “I Got A Bit More Than I Bargained For!

Leave a Reply

