Crossing Over


Unfortunately, there isn’t story to pair with today’s photo other than I love bridges. Well, let me clarify, I love bridges when they are in photos. They are magnificent structures in their own right and connect cities and towns around the world. Nevertheless, I am terrified of driving across them. I will only travel over a bridge if it is absolutely, unequivocably necessary to do so because an alternate route isn’t possible. The bridge I dislike the most is the Chesapeake Bay Bridge. It’s too narrow and too long! However, I am sure it would make a stunning photo. The first time I crossed the Chesapeake Bay Bridge, I was in a 18-wheel enclosed car carrier (with a sleeper) being driven by my brother to Virginia somewhere. I mention the sleeper because that’s where I was when I awakened to the horror of the skimpy two lane bridge. To make matters worse, the height of the truck allowed you to everything; and everything meant it was a bit too much for me. My brother couldn’t understand my fear since I still ride on rollercoasters… To that I say, BIG difference. We still chuckle about that day… okay he still chuckles about that day. I’m still mortified every time I hear the words CHESAPEAKE BAY BRIDGE.

Well, I guess I did have a story to pair with today’s post after all. Who knew? By the way, this bridge is the Vincent R. Casciano Bridge in New Jersey taken from Lincoln Park.

4 thoughts on “Crossing Over

  1. And here I thought I was the only one who had issues driving over bridges. It’s gotten better over the years but I used to hyperventilate. But I completely understand your pain!

  2. I have a friend that won’t cross bridges; she has to close her eyes. I understand your apprehension. I too have traveled the Chesapeake Bay Bridge and Tunnel. I was a wee bit on edge, more so knowing I was under water in the tunnel! I managed to keep my eyes open so I have a few shots to share later. 🙂 FYI: I traveled a bridge in gator country and now that was a scary thought!!!

    • Thank you for taking the time to comment. I’m starting to realize that there are quite a few people with this fear. Yesterday I drove to Camden and really wanted to go to Philadelphia but I just couldn’t get enough courage to cross the Walt Whitman Bridge. But I will try again soon just to scout for new photos!

Leave a Reply

