This Is Not Gilligan’s Island!


Today’s Photo: Lost and Found: The SS Minnow (II)

I woke up this morning full of energy and ready to begin my weekend. I was dressed and had eaten breakfast before 11 AM. That is definitely an accomplishment on a weekend nonetheless! I love lazing around the house on weekends; well unless I have important errands to run, then I’m up and out of the house by 9 AM.

I digressed… back to the story of my wonderful find. I drove past this shipwrecked boat ironically located on a street named Fresh Pond Road. I had to do a double take. Did I really see the SS Minnow? Where am I? This is not Gilligan’s Island! The closest sight of the ocean is at least an hour away.

At that moment, the childhood memories came flooding back of the television show Gilligan’s Island . I remember watching the episodes (re-runs) over and over until the words were committed to memory. But I gotta say, it was that unforgettable theme song that I continued to sing long after the show ended. You know the words…

Just sit right back and you’ll hear a tale,
 A tale of a fateful trip
That started from this tropic port
Aboard this tiny ship…

Yes, you can sing it if your heart tugs at you to do so. I won’t tell! My favorite part of the song was…

The ship set ground on the shore of this uncharted desert isle
With Gilligan
The Skipper too,
The millionaire and his wife,
The movie star
The professor and Mary Ann, Here on Gilligan’s Isle.

I loved the way they sang the line “The Movie Star”;  somehow it felt sultry and evoked a sense of star quality and of Old Hollywood.

Whoa… those childhood memories!! Okay, I did it again… back to today’s find. I love the way nature has begun to invade the boat’s space. The tree limbs are going in out of its open spaces and becoming one with the boat. It probably was a beauty was a beauty in its day! I also found great humor in the sign that was strategically hanging from the front of the boat… SS Minnow II. That should stop the passersby!  But if you’re too young to remember Gilligan’s Island, maybe you would have not even of noticed the humor and irony of this former beauty.

Well, that’s all folks! Until next time… We now return to your scheduled broadcast! 🙂

-Onelifethislife

10 thoughts on “This Is Not Gilligan’s Island!

Leave a Reply

